

NATIONAL SCIENCE FOUNDATION 2415 EISENHOWER AVE ALEXANDRIA, VA 22314

Date: August 11, 2020 To: File From: Dr. William Easterling Assistant Director for Geosciences Regarding: Selection of COV membership for the Division of Atmospheric and Geospace Sciences

The credibility of the COV mechanism rests, in large measure, on the selection of credible, independent experts who are able to provide a balanced and impartial assessments to NSF.

The COV represented a broad segment of the disciplines consistent with the scope of activities for which the Division of Atmospheric and Geospace Sciences (AGS) has oversight responsibilities. The committee comprised members with expertise in Aeronomy, Atmospheric Chemistry, Atmospheric Sciences, Climate Science, Facilities management, Meteorology, Magnetospheric Physics, Paleoclimate, Solar Terrestrial, Science Education, and Space Weather.

The COV committee was diverse: it included eight females and five male members. There were two African American members and one member who had native American heritage. Six members of the COV had not received AGS support during the past five years; three were employees of other federal agencies, viz, NASA and NOAA.

There were no conflicts of interest between any COV member and the Program Directors in the Division.

The three-day COV was held March 30, 2020 through April 1, 2020. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic a decision was made to hold a virtual COV. The members met each day from noon to 6:00 PM since members were on different time zone. Dr. Kaatje Kraft, Professor Whitcom Community College served as chair of the COV panel to the Advisory Committee for Geosciences. She attended both the pre-COV webinars that AGS conducted in February 2020 and March 2020. She was present for the entire COV meeting. She led the development of the report and circulated it to the committee for approval.

COV members		
Name	Institution/Organization	Expertise
Dr. Kaatje Kraft, Chair COV	Whatcom Community College, WA	Physical geology, Science Education
Endawoke Yizengaw	Aerospace Corp	Aeronomy
John Matthews	Penn State University	Facilities/Aeronomy
Christina Karamperidou	Univ Hawaii Manoa	Paleoclimate
Scott St. George	Univ. Minnesota	Paleoclimate
Robbie Hood	Former NOAA program director	Atmospheric Sciences, field campaigns, observational systems
Akua Asa-Awuku	Univ. Maryland College Park	Atmospheric Chemistry
Jennifer Comstock	DOE PNNL	Atmospheric Sciences
Judy Karpen	NASA Goddard Space Flight Center	Solar Terrestrial
Margaret Chen	Aerospace Corporation	Magnetospheric Physics
Hansi Singh	Univ Victoria, Univ Washington	Climate and Large-scale Dynamics
Robert Banta	NOAA Earth Systems Research Lab	Physical and Dynamic Meteorology
	NOAA Geophysical Fluid Dynamics	
Michael Winton	Laboratory	Climate and Large-Scale Dynamics