



A Joint National Science Board National Science Foundation
Management Report

SETTING PRIORITIES FOR LARGE RESEARCH FACILITY PROJECTS SUPPORTED BY THE NATIONAL SCIENCE FOUNDATION



NATIONAL SCIENCE BOARD

Terms Expire May 10, 2006

Nina V. Fedoroff, Evan Hugh Professor, Willaman Professor of Life Sciences, and Director, Biotechnology Institute, The Pennsylvania State University, University Park

Jane Lubchenco, Wayne and Gladys Valley Professor of Marine Biology and Distinguished Professor of Zoology, Oregon State University

Diana S. Natalicio, Vice Chair, President, The University of Texas at El Paso

Michael G. Rossmann, Hanley Distinguished Professor of Biological Sciences, Purdue University

Daniel Simberloff, Nancy Gore Hunger Professor of Environmental Science, Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, University of Tennessee, Knoxville

Warren M. Washington, Chair, Senior Scientist and Section Head, National Center for Atmospheric Research

John A. White, Jr., Chancellor, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville

Mark S. Wrighton, Chancellor, Washington University at St. Louis

Terms Expire May 10, 2008

Barry C. Barish, Linde Professor of Physics and Director, LIGO Laboratory, California Institute of Technology **Ray M. Bowen**, President Emeritus, Texas A&M University, College Station

Delores M. Etter, ONR Distinguished Chair in S&T, Electrical Engineering Department, U.S. Naval Academy **Kenneth M. Ford**, Director, Florida Institute for Human and Machine Cognition

Daniel Hastings, Director, Engineering Systems Division and Professor, Aeronautics and Astronautics and Engineering Systems, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Elizabeth Hoffman, President, University of Colorado System

Douglas D. Randall, Professor of Biochemistry and Director, Interdisciplinary Program on Plant Biochemistry and Physiology, University of Missouri-Columbia

Jo Anne Vasquez, Mesa, Arizona Public Schools (Retired)

Terms Expire May 10, 2010

Dan E. Arvizu, Director, National Renewable Energy Laboratory

Steven C. Beering, President Emeritus, Purdue University, West Layfayette

G. Wayne Clough, President, Georgia Institute of Technology

Kelvin K. Droegemeier, Regents' Professor & Roger and Sherry Teigen Presidential Professor; Weathernews Chair of Applied Meteorology; Director, Center for Analysis and Prediction of Storms; and Director, Sasaki Institute, University of Oklahoma, Norman

Louis J. Lanzerotti, Distinguished Research Professor, Center for Solar-Terrestrial Research, New Jersey Institute of Technology

Alan Leshner, Chief Executive Officer, American Association for the Advancement of Science

Jon C. Strauss, President, Harvey Mudd College

Kathryn D. Sullivan, President and CEO, Center of Science and Industry

Member ex officio

Arden L. Bement, Jr., Director, National Science Foundation

Michael P. Crosby, Executive Officer, National Science Board, and National Science Board Office Director

The National Science Board consists of 24 members plus the Director of the National Science Foundation. Appointed by the President, the Board serves as the policy-making body of the Foundation and provides advice to the President and the Congress on matters of national science and engineering policy.

NATIONAL SCIENCE BOARD COMMITTEE ON PROGRAMS AND PLANS

Daniel Simberloff, Chair
Barry C. Barish
Kelvin K. Droegemeier
Delores M. Etter
Nina V. Fedoroff
Kenneth M. Ford
Louis J. Lanzerotti
Alan Leshner
Jane Lubchenco
Michael G. Rossmann
John A. White, Jr.

Warren M. Washington, ex officio*
Diana S. Natalicio, ex officio*
Arden L. Bement, Jr., ex officio*

^{*} The NSB Chair, NSB Vice Chair, and NSF Director are members *ex officio* of all NSB committees.



CONTENTS

Acknowledgments
Introduction9
Transparency or Clarity of the MREFC Process9
Community Involvement
Roadmap: NSF Facility Plan10
Considerations in the Development and Revisions of the Facility Plan11
Process of Large Facility Project Development
Development Stage: Formation of Development Plans
Funding for Pre-Approval Planning and Development14
Readiness Stage14
Candidates for New Start15
Budgetary Approach15
Oversight of and Flexibility in Implemention of Large Facility Projects
Appendices
I. NSF Facility Plan and Process for Selection of MREFC Projects (LFPs) 19
II. Criteria for Developing Large Facilities Roadmaps and Budgets21
III. National Science Board Criteria for Approving and Prioritizing Large Facility Projects
IV. Public Comments



ACKNOWLEDGMENTS

The Committee on Programs and Plans wishes to acknowledge and thank the following individuals:

Dr. Anita Jones, former NSB Member and former Chair, Committee on Programs and Plans deserves special recognition for the significant role she played in the initial NSB white paper that laid the foundation for this report. Dr. Michael Crosby, the Board's Executive Officer, ably assisted her in this endeavor.

An NSF staff writing team, directed by Dr. Joseph Bordogna, former NSF Deputy Director, provided valuable contributions during the drafting stages of this joint NSB-NSF report: Dr. John Hunt, Dr. Richard Behnke, Dr. Mark Coles, Dr. Priscilla Nelson, Dr. Wayne Van Citters, and Ms. Patricia Crumley.

