APPENDIX IV: PUBLIC COMMENTS

The National Science Board solicited and received public comments on a draft of the report, Setting Priorities for Large Research Facility Projects Supported by the National Science Foundation (NSB/CPP-04-20). The final report incorporates the public's comments, as appropriate. Comments were received from the following individuals:

Bruce Alberts, President, National Academy of Sciences

Frederick Bernthal, President, Universities Research Association, Inc.

James H. Bradley, Deputy Administrator, Administrative and Financial Management, Agricultural Research Service, Research Education and Economics, U.S. Department of Agriculture

Paula J. Dobriansky, Under Secretary of State for Global Affairs

Judy Franz, Executive Officer, American Physical Society

Charles G. Grout, Director, U.S. Geological Survey

Norman Hackerman, Past President and Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Chemistry, Rice University and Past President and Professor Emeritus, The University of Texas at Austin

Garth Illingworth, Chair, The Astronomy and Astrophysics Advisory Committee

Lek G. Kadeli, Acting Deputy Assistant Administrator for Management, Environmental Protection Agency

Ronald F. Levant, President, and Norman B. Anderson, CEO, American Psychological Association

John H. Marburger, Director, Office of Science and Technology Policy

Thomas P. Russell, Director, Materials Research Science and Engineering Center, Associate Director, MassNanoTech, University of Massachusetts, Amherst

Keith Seitter, Executive Director, American Meteorological Society

Larry Smarr, Professor of Computer Science and Engineering, University of California, San Diego

Marek Urban, Director, NSF Materials Research Science and Engineering Center at the University of Southern Mississippi

Gregory Williams, Senior Policy Analyst, NASA Science Mission Directorate

Elias A. Zerhouni, Director, National Institute of Health